The law is complicated, and if you are facing a DUI charge in Texas you might need to look into your dad’s rights.
The law protects dads from criminal charges and criminal penalties for reckless driving while intoxicated, and for a DUI in which a driver has been intoxicated for more than three hours.
A driver’s blood alcohol level is the legal limit to be convicted of driving while impaired, and it is up to the discretion of the court to decide whether or not to impose a sentence of more than one year in jail or two years in prison.
In most cases, the maximum sentence is three years in jail and the maximum fine is $2,000.
However, a driver convicted of reckless driving, which is not a DUI, is also charged with violating Texas’ Driver’s Manual and the Texas Vehicle Code.
These two offenses are classified as Class B misdemeanors, meaning that a driver is only convicted of one misdemeanor, and a driver who has been convicted of two or more misdemeanours is also only convicted for one misdemeanor.
The Texas Motor Vehicle Code defines reckless driving as: Reckless driving with an impairment that substantially limits one or more of the following: vision, hearing, balance, concentration, judgment, reaction time, reaction reaction time to a physical change in the environment, reaction to physical restraint, reaction or reaction time of the vehicle, reaction speed, reaction in an emergency, reaction coordination, reaction stability, reaction control, reaction restraint, or reaction control control when using the hand, arm, or leg, or the trunk or cargo area of a vehicle or truck.
The maximum penalty for a driver with two or less violations is a $500 fine, and the penalties increase to $2-500 if a third or more violation occurs.
A first offense in this category is punishable by one year of imprisonment and a fine of $1,000 or two to $10,000 depending on the seriousness of the offense.
A second offense in the same category is a felony punishable by up to two years of imprisonment, a fine up to $5,000, and up to three years of jail time.
A third or subsequent offense in a class B misdemeanor is punishable up to five years of prison and a $5-100 fine, depending on whether or no other violations occur.
The Driver Manual defines driving under the influence of drugs as the act of driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or more or any combination of these two levels.
It is illegal to drive with a driver’s BAC of 0.08% for more then one hour or more than five consecutive hours.
If you are charged with driving under a certain level of impairment, you can be prosecuted under a class C misdemeanor or a class E felony.
There are many exceptions to this law.
For instance, you are not guilty of reckless driver if you had a blood-alcohol concentration of 0 mg/dL or less, or if you were under the effects of any controlled substance that includes marijuana, heroin, amphetamines, and prescription drugs.
However you are also not guilty if you drive while under the age of 18.
Driving while under age 18 is a Class C misdemeanor.
If convicted, you could also face up to one year or up to a $2.5, $5.5 or $10.5 fine.
You can be charged with reckless driving if you: Have a blood or breath test negative for alcohol